The Eighteenth Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence 2016
Berkeley Prize 2016

Winning Essays

Winners of the Eighteenth Annual BERKELEY PRIZE Essay Competition are announced by Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. This year there is one First Prize, one Second Prize, one Third Prize, and one Fourth Prize Winner. 

First Prize

Ms. VishnuPriya Viswanathan, Faculty of Architecture, Manipal Unviersity, Manipal, Karnataka, India: “Paving Better Paths for Little Feet." (6000USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Second Prize

Ms. Zahra Mosaddegh Akrami and Mr. Ali Tabatabaei, Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning, Tehran University of Art, Keraj, Iran: “When Local Architecture Provides a Shelter.” (5000USD - Shared)

Read Bio | Read Proposal Read Essay

Third Prize 

Mr. Ayushman Kedia, School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India: “From Squatters of Threat to Homes of Hope.” (3000USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Fourth Prize

Mr. Julian Daly, Department of Architecture, College of Environmental Design, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, U.S.A, and Ms. Rebecca Sherouse, American University, Washington, D.C., USA: “Without a Home – Migrant Farmworkers in California." (2000USD - Shared)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay



Read the full 2016 announcement here.

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Copyright © 1998-2021 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.