The Annual International Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence 2019
Berkeley Prize 2019

Winning Essays


Winners of the Twenty First Annual BERKELEY PRIZE Essay Competition are announced by Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. This year there are two First Prize, one Second Prize, and one Third Prize. 

First Place Prize (shared)

Ms. Muskaan Jain and Mr. Gurinder Singh, Bachelor of Architecture students at the School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, India for: Designing for Climate and Climate Change: A Paradigm Shift ” (7500USD)

Read BioRead Proposal | Read Essay

First Place Prize (shared)

Ms. Shahreen Mukashafat Semontee and Mr. Raquibul Hassan Bhuiyan, Bachelor of Architecture student in the Department of Architecture at the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Dhaka, Bangladesh for: Thinking Water, Thinking Fluid.” (7500USD)

Read Bio Read Proposal Read Essay

Second Place Prize

Mr. Cullen SayeghBachelor of Architecture student in School of Architecture at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA forIsolated Space: Cultural and Climatic Continuity in Southern Appalachia” (6500USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Third Place Prize

Ms. Chiranjivi Jai Mankoo and Ms. Samriddhi Pandey, Bachelor of Architecture students in the Faculty of Architecture and Ekistics at Jamia Millia Islamia in Delhi, India for: Adapting Traditions In The New World Order.” (5500USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Copyright © 1998-2021 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.