The Annual International Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence 2020
Berkeley Prize 2020

Winning Essays


Winners of the twenty-second annual BERKELEY PRIZE Essay Competition are announced by University of California, Berkeley Professor Emeritus of Architecture and City & Regional Planning Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the international Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. 
The Essay Competition timeline started on 15 September 2019 with all submissions due on 1 February 2020.  Since then, the unprecedented upheaval caused by the COVID-19 pandemic has also changed the entire academic landscape.  The potential longer-term effects of the pandemic on higher education generally and architecture programs specifically are still unclear. 
In the long-term, the PRIZE hopes to adjust its outreach to respond to any new realities.  For the moment and as a direct reflection of the hardships caused by both the virus and subsequent population lockdowns worldwide, this year’s PRIZE awards have been expanded.  
Each year, the PRIZE Committee and the Jurors look to identify the most outstanding work among the many excellent essays and the research that those essays describe.  This year, all of the submissions will be honored:  
  • For the Finalists, there is the “best of the best” First, Second and Third Prizes, and five Honorable Mentions totaling 35,000USD.  
  • In addition, and in lieu of applying for this year’s necessarily cancelled BERKELEY PRIZE Travel Fellowship Competition, all Semifinalists will receive a cash award of 500USD.  
In total, 52 students are recognized and honored for their 26, two-member team, essay submissions as described below.

First Place Prize 

Rhiddhit Paul (architecture) and Abhradeep Chakraborty (planning) at the School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, India for: Nests for a Phoenix: Building Life After Death (9000USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Second Place Prize 

Poonam Parikh (architecture) and Khushali Haji (urban design) at the C.E.P.T. University, Ahmedabad, India for: "Ahmedabad: Growing through a History of Community and Conflict" (7500USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal Read Essay

Third Place Prize

Michael Tsang (architecture) and Elisa Ynaraja Rodriguez (civil engineering) at the University of Bath, Bath, UK for: "The Storytellers of Bristol: An Exploration of Community Created by Theatre” (6000USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal Read Essay

Honorable Mention

Claudio Cabana (architecture/environmental design) and Henrike Scholz (international relations) at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada for: The Learned City: Civic Buildings, Information Inequality, and the Digital Divide” (2500USD)

Read Bio Read Proposal | Read Essay

Honorable Mention

Vladimir Kositsyn (architecture) and Zhenya Nasledskova (environmental design) at the Moscow Architectural Institute, Moscow, Russian Federation for: Moscow Civic Buildings and Their Variability through the Prism of Time” (2500USD)

Read Bio Read Proposal | Read Essay

Honorable Mention

Elizabeth Njeri Mugo (architecture) at the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology and Stephanie Brenda Wanjiru Munene (law) at Strathmore University, Nairobi, Kenya for: For the love of Museums” (2500USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Honorable Mention

Madhura Vaze (architecture) at B.K.P.S. College of Architecture and Nabha Joshi (economics) at the S.P College, Pune, India for: “Public Markets: Building Community, Building Economy" (2500USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Honorable Mention

Jingni Wu (art) at Beihang University and Xinxing Chen (architecture) at the Beijing Jiaotong University, Beijing, China for: Elder-Friendly Community Building: Civic Space Creation under the Renovation of the Hutong Area” (2500USD)

Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay



Fatima Aamir & Maria Hunaid Samiwala

Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture & Habib University  Pakistan

Fatima Pona Arbab & Amal Hashim

Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture & Habib University

Amalia Dewi Ardianingsih & Rahadian Imam Nur Arif

Technische Universität Berlin 

Job Aronda & Ashaba Precious Makerere University Uganda
Shravan Arun & Diana Anghel

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

United States

Shubangi Bagre & Divya Bagre

School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal & Hahnemann Homoeopathic Medical College and Hospital, Bhopal

Afrah Atique Farooqui & 

Tooba Kamran

University of Karachi

Noor Hamdan & Yara Am Ali American University of Sharjah United Arab Emirates
Adefila Inioluwa & 

Ola Vincent Omotade

Federal University of Technology, Minna

Pranjal Kulkarni & Mukul Katiyar

Maulana Azad National Institute Of Technology


Natanael Lopez & Milda Svegzdaite

Kaunas University of Technology & Vilniaus Dail?s Akademija

Zoya Nasir & Ayman Babar

Indus Valley School of Arts and Architecture & Habib University


Reva Saksena & Zoofishan Fatima

School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal


Samuel Simonetta & Daniel Rivera

Savannah College of Art and Design

United States
Rishika Sood & Sarthak Jain

Madhav Institute of Technology and Science &

Sardanad Mandir Sangeet Mahavidhyala

Gunraagh Singh Talwar & 

Pranav Wahi

School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal & Vivekanada Institute of Professional Studies

Leticia Teodoro & Marcelo Gonçalves Unicamp & 

Pontificia Catolica de Campinas



Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Copyright © 1998-2021 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.