The Fifthteenth Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2013
Berkeley Prize 2013

Winning Proposals

Winners of the First BERKELEY PRIZE Teaching Fellowship are announced by Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. This year there are five inaugural fellows. All Teaching Fellows receive a 7500USD award.

Allan K. Birabi, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer, Makerere University Department of Architecture and Physical Planning, Kampala, Uganda, for the purpose of teaching aspects of Universal Design in the Foundation Year of the B.Arch. program at his school.
Read Proposal |

Eve A. Edelstein, Ph.D., Associate AIA, Associate Professor, University of Arizona College of Architecture, Planning and Landscape, Tucson, USA, for her course, “Expanding the Universe of Design: Applying a Neuro-Architectural Process to Create Accessible Cities,” in collaboration with the University of Arizona Disability Resource Center.
Read Proposal |

Ajay Khare, Ph.D., Founder-Director of the School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, India, for his course, “Universal Design for Cultural Interface at Sacred Site of Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, India”
Read Proposal |

Alex MacLaren, RIBA, Design Tutor, Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (ESALA), Edinburgh, United Kingdom, for her courses on ”Social Housing” and “Civic Futures”.
Read Proposal |

Josh Safdie, Associate AIA, Adjunct Faculty Member, Massachusetts College of Art and Design (MassArt), and Director of the Studio at the Institute for Human Centered Design (IHCD), both in Boston, USA, for his courses to be taught at MassArt, “Urban Visionaries: Sustainable City/Inclusive City”, and “The 100 Acres: Housing for All.”
Read Proposal |

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Copyright © 1998-2021 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.