The Thirteenth Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2011
Berkeley Prize 2011

Winning Proposals

The winners of the Eighth Annual BERKELEY PRIZE Travel Fellowship Competition are announced today by Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. This is a special opportunity for the students to explore a part of the world and/or participate in an organized project that will assist them in gaining a deeper understanding of the social art of architecture. This year the BERKELEY PRIZE Committee awards three Travel Fellowships for Self -Directed Travel and recognizes two students for their Global Studio applications.

Mr. Hriday Gami, CEPT University, New Delhi, India for travel to the Wood in Construction and Architecture Program at Aalto Univerisity, Helsinki, Finland.
Read BioRead Proposal

Ms. Milenka Jirasko, Montana State University, Bozeman, Montana, for travel to Amizade Service Learning Program, Oswiecim, Poland.
Read Bio | Read Proposal

Ms. Diana Mihai, Ion Mincu University of Architecture and Urbanism, Bucharest, Romania for travel to Architects Sans Frontieres-UK in Jammu and Kashmir, India.
Read Bio | Read Proposal

Global Studio Bhopal, which was originally scheduled for July 2011, has been postponed until at least January 2012.  As a result, the BERKELEY PRIZE is unable to commit to award any Fellowships in this category.  We want, however, to specifically recognize the following two applicants whose proposals best capture the spirit of the PRIZE as it might be exemplified in the work of the Global Studio.

Mr. Acellam Benard, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda.
Read Proposal

Ms. Christina Monzer, University of California, Berkeley, California, USA.
Read Proposal

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.