The Annual International Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Berkeley Prize 2024


Architecture Reveals Communities

Essay Prize Question


Essay Prize Jurors

Professor and Architect Sangeeta Bagga-Mehta, Ph.D.
Professor and Architect Mark L. Gillem
Professor and Architect Omar Khattab, Ph.D.
Mr. Faiq Mari, Architect and Fulbright Scholar

Essay Prize Winners and Honorable Mentions

First Prize: Mr. Jan Doroteo

 University of Toronto John D. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design, Toronto, Canada: “The Little Pinoy Sari-Sari Store: Of Otherness and Belonging in a Global Diaspora” 

Second Prize: Mr. Hadi Osni

 National University of Singapore School of Design & Environment, Singapore: “The Baweanese Pondok: Pondok Tampilung” 

Third Prize: Ms. Bella Biwer

 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Architecture & Urban Planning, Milwaukee, U.S.A.: “The Architecture of Place: Amaranth Bakery and Café”

Fourth Prize: Mr. Layton Checketts

 University of Utah College of Architecture + Planning, Salt Lake City, U.S.A. “Stories of Community: The Provo Tabernacle”

Honorable Mention: Ms. Sakshi Khare and Ms. Vidhi Wadhawan

 School of Architecture and Planning, Bhopal, India. “Expressions of Aspirations: United by a Night”

Honorable Mention: Mr. Muhammad Satya Irfanando and Ms. Lia Sparingga Purnamasari

 Universitas Sebelas Maret Department of Architecture, Surakarta, Indonesia: “Repurpose to Survive: a Lesson from Surakarta"

Travel Fellowship Winners and Destination  

Mr. Ali Abidi from the University of Carthage National School of Architecture and Urbanism, Sidi Bou-Said, Tunisia to travel to Abetenim, Ghana to attend the “Earth Architecture International Workshop," the purpose of which is to build InsideOut, a prototype of a sustainable school in participation with the local community, sponsored by Nka Foundation + Build to Make A Change.

Mr. Richard Migisha from the Uganda Martyrs University Faculty of the Built Environment, Nkozi, Uganda to travel to Gando and Laonga in Burkina Faso for the purpose of a self-guided tour of the works of sustainable architect Diébédo Francia Kéré; and also to travel to travel to Abetenim, Ghana to attend the “Earth Architecture International Workshop." (See Ali Abidi above, who will also be attending)

Ms. Aarushi Sharma from the School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, India to travel to Arusha, Tanzania for the purposes of volunteering to help design school and hostel blocks, and a cultural center sponsored by the Esupat Centre for Cultural Diversity; and also to travel to Porto, Portugal to participate in the Summer School Programme: Practice and Theory of Sustainable and Social Architecture sponsored by “Critical Concrete,” for the purposes of hands-on demolition/refurbishing/rebuilding of a typical Ilhas house.

Mr. Aman Sinha from the School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, India to travel to Phoenix, U.S.A. to attend a five-week Arcosanti hands-on construction workshop and to study the principal of Arcology. 


Related Links
2017 Prize Website
2017 Poster
2017 Press Release

2017 Poster

FIRST AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, Oakland, California, U.S.A., 1902. Congregation founded by free African Americans in 1816 as part of a nationwide movement in the United States. (Photo by Raymond Lifchez)

MOSQUE AND MINARET, Village of Teqoa, south-east of Bethlehem, Palestine. (Photo by Shimon Dotan)

LGBT CENTER, Tel-Aviv, Israel: Formerly, the General Federation of Students and Young Workers Center completed in 1940; later re-purposed as the Dov Hoz professional school; and since 2008 Israel's rst Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender public gathering place. (Photo by Robert Ungar)

SCUOLA DI SAN NICOLO DEI GRECI, Venice, Italy. Built in 1539 as the center for a Greek fraternal organization dedicated to the spiritual, social, and economic well-being of its members. (Photo by Raymond Lifchez)

Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.